Monday, November 30, 2009

oh yeah!

I eeked out 9 miles yesterday! Maybe that's unfair (to myself) - I ran them true and steady, with stops only for water at Weaver Street Market and the Old Well (twice). I ran my running buddy's 8 mile route with a little extra loop added on. I just squeaked in at 9 miles (including walking up the Bradley hill).

It was cool enough to not carry water (oh, the hassle!) but not cool enough to not need to stop. I'm actually kind of ready for true cold winter weather. I used Jelly Belly sports beans this time, which I like much better than the Gu Chomps which I'd used before. One whole pack of Jelly Bellies only has 100 calories and I probably only had half, but it's pretty cool how they give me a needed burst of energy.

Ready for 10 miles this weekend? Perhaps....

Saturday, November 28, 2009

gallop and gorge

I completed my first second annual race on Thursday - the 8K Gallop and Gorge! And I beat my record from last year - down to 49 minutes+/- from 53 minutes+/-. That's better than a 10 minute mile!

I took a break from running on Friday and did a 3-miler in the hood today. Tomorrow: 9 miles!!! Yikes!!!

Sunday, November 22, 2009

oh wow

I haven't written here in a while. Quick recap of most recent runs:

Sunday, 11/8 - another 8 mile run. First run through Carrboro, starting from home. I was running by myself and it was boring. When I was done, I had the bizarre ammonia smell in my nose. My internet research tells me that's due to either not enough carbs or not enough water - both possibilities.

Sunday, 11/15 - after a week of feeling crappy, I managed 2 loops of the pumpkin trail. It felt really good. It was very warm and the sun felt great. I was glad to be running again.

Weds. 11/18 - nighttime run with buddies in the hood and to VW - very nice run.

Sunday 11/22 - today! Ran 8 miles again with a running friend. A fun run though I admit I felt winded throughout, but I feel great now! Yea!

This Thursday (Thanksgiving) - Gallop and Gorge 5 mile run. Last year I did that for the first time; it was the first time I'd ever run as far as 5 miles. Wow - I've come 3 miles in one year. (Ha).

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

"tempo"

(In quotes.)

A tempo run is supposed to be fast. First though, I ran one mile at a comfortable pace as a warmup (ah, the 11-12 minute mile) and then after that, a "tempo" mile.

My "tempo" mile was about 9:30. That's not fast, at all. True, what I thought was a mile was actually a bit more than a mile but still. But - it was fast for me and I guess that's what matters. Sigh.

Sunday, November 1, 2009

longest run yet!

It was not a good morning for a run, yet I did it, and finished 8 miles!

It was a rainy, cold (50's) and slightly windy Sunday morning after Halloween. I bundled up in my new running pants (from Dad and Luisa - they have a slight fleece layer on the inside) a few tops and my waterproof rain jacket. I also wore what I believe to be my best socks - wool. Despite all these protective measures, I ended up soaked but I managed to finish the run, only stopping to wait for traffic at road crossings.

I used my running buddy's 8 mile route on walkjogrun (not nearly as convoluted as my own 8 mile route, but similar). The only thing I don't like about this route is that it ends on the greenway, which is a boring end to a run. I've come to really dislike running on the greenway. Other than that, it's similar to the gimghoul run.

Yea for 8 miles!

ETA: I carried a paper with me that indicated each mile of the run so I could track my pace - I did 11 or 12 minute miles but by mile 5 or so the paper was so wet I gave up on tracking my pace.

And, the Wednesday earlier this week, I ran the pumpkin x 2.