Saturday, June 27, 2009

ick

Terrible "run" this morning. I skipped on the TS run for various reasons but decided to do a neighborhood run. Left around 9 and it was hot, sticky and sunny. I brought water but that didn't help. My stomach was funny before I left so that didn't help either. I made it to Village West and had to walk the rest of the way home. So about 3 miles in almost an hour. Sad. Plus, I'm feeling some shin pain! Argh.

Friday, June 26, 2009

tempo on pumpkin trail

Another killer workout with Team Sakina. After a 10 minute warmup run, we did a tempo run around the PT. The intermediate group (me) did 10 min tempo, 2 min walk, 5 min tempo, 1 min walk, tempo til done. It took me 25 minutes to circle the PT this way. It was hard. Tempo running was described as running as fast as you can without losing your form. I guess I did that.

Total: I'll say 3.5.

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

pumpkin trail, times 2

Which I like to count as 5 miles!

Monday, June 22, 2009

i love the pumpkin trail

I just ran it again (twice) with schwester and my other running friends. Yahoo!

Saturday, June 20, 2009

another hot run

It is summer, after all.

But with dewpoint and temperature both hovering in the mid-seventies (heat index in the high nineties) when I headed out at 8:30 this morning, a steamy run was inevitable. Fortunately, there was someone else feeling as wiped as me, so we walked part of the way.

We did the Philosopher's Way trail run again, and I was glad to. I tried to pay more attention this time so I might run it myself sometime.

Friday, June 19, 2009

great hot workout

Phew! Ran with Team Sakina last night - we did a hills workout. It was hot and steamy and a hard workout but I felt great after! Just to recap (to aid my memory, in case I ever want to go back there):

1 set included:

- run up and down a short but steep hill - rest 30 seconds
- repeat
- run up the hill, then around a longer, flat loop, back down the hill, rest 90 seconds

I did 3 sets. This was all done at a level 7 exertion. I'm still not sure exactly what that means, but I know that I was going about as hard as I could. Oh my gosh it was hot.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

pumpkin trail

I ran the pumpkin trail this morning with 2 running buddies (moms from Ruby' s school). I did this trail for the first time, and I like it! Simple 2.5 loop, and we did it twice! Excellent - I love learning more trails. Also, it was nice and cool and raining lightly - perfect. I never got hot or thirsty.

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

ran in texas

That's right, I'm not from Texas! But I ran in Texas anyway, with the schwester, on Sunday the 14th. We did 4 miles around Town Lake. (At my urging, we walked about a mile of it). I'm jealous of Town Lake - wish we had one!

Thursday, June 11, 2009

ran yesterday

3 miles in the hot afternoon.

Monday, June 8, 2009

sunday run

3 miles in the hood. A little walking, galloway-style, though I'm not exactly training for a marathon yet/ever.

Saturday, June 6, 2009

and again yesterday

I ran the same (almost) 2 miles again yesterday afternoon, catching a break in the almost all-day rainfest. So, 4 miles for the week. My lungs felt fine, but I didn't want to push it by going any further. I think I'll try for 3 miles tomorrow morning. Skipped Team Sakina meet this AM, since it was an ambitious (long) run, and in Cary. I hope to restart regularly on Thursday (missing Saturday since I'll be heading to TX to visit the Schwester!).

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

i ran and it was ok

I did run a little less than 2 miles on Sunday. I was fine! I walked part of the way, only to be on the safe side. (Ortho told me to avoid hills so I walked up/down the hills). Shins felt fine.